Kian Statement : Mark is on mend after split

13/01/2012 18:22

article Published on 08.01.2012

 

Byline: SAMUEL HAMILTON

HEARTBROKEN Westlife star Mark Feehily is slowly feeling better, his bandmate Kian Egan has revealed.

The singer shocked the showbiz world by splitting from his fiance Kevin McDaid last weekend – just months after promising to marry him this year.

Now, speaking for the first time, Kian, 31, told the Irish Sunday Mirror Westlife have been rallying around Mark, also 31, following his sensational break-up from the 27-year-old photographer.

And the new judge of The Voice promised fans the beloved star will be raring to go for the band’s farewell tour in Croke Park late this year.

He added: “I have been speaking to Mark. He’s got his head up and he’s getting on with things. It’s so sad to see them break up but these things happen in life and I’m sure Mark is going to be really, really good.

“It’s heartbreaking to see someone after seven years of a great relationship going their separate ways. But that’s life for you.” The singer is set to electrify TV audiences tonight when he makes his debut as a judge on RTE’s big-money talent show The Voice.

And Kian, who last month celebrated the birth of his first baby with wife Jodi, insisted he’s ready to be the tough judge – unlike celebrities on other shows who refuse to tell contestants the truth.

He said: “I feel I’ve been myself. I haven’t put anything on. I’ve been honest. I haven’t bothered telling people that they’re great when they’re not.

“I think there’s an awful lot of people out there in the world chasing something that might not be for them in the long run, and they come to these type of shows looking for an honest opinion.

“Personally I get quite frustrated when we watch these other shows similar to The Voice that have all the judges, or coaches, making throwaway comments and going, ‘That was good, blah, blah.’

“If you’re going to criticise someone make it constructive. I’m sick of wanting to take my shoe off and throw it at the TV because the judges are saying the same bloody thing week, after week, after week.”

Kian is already at war with crooner Brian Kennedy – who claimed the Westlife star couldn’t sing during a bitter war of words on Friday’s Late Late Show.

But Kian blasted: “In my opinion, he’s got a hell of a lot more to prove than I do… It’s pretty true to say that when you look at my career against Brian’s, I’ve done a hell of a lot more than he’s done.

“Brian’s a singer and he doesn’t think I’m a singer. That’s where Brian’s getting his mindset there. I definitely think that Brian’s out to have a little spat with me.”

And Kian insisted that unlike Eurovision loser Brian he knows exactly how to mould someone into becoming a popstar.

He added: “Even though I might not have been one of the lead singers in Westlife, the experience I’ve gained from being a member of Westlife and travelling the world and doing the things we’ve done – I know what it takes to be a popstar.

“I’ve seen it, and I know what it takes. It’s not just about a talent, it’s about all the other things that come with it.”

 

Credit/Source: Irish Sunday Mirror